Outfit Inspo: // The 1975 //

Hello all! In a sudden burst of organizational clarity, I’ve outlined and made a whole new plan for my little blog. Hopefully it will be a bit more “together” from now on, with regular posts and updates.

That said, here’s my first little “series”: outfit inspo. Recently, I stumbled across the band The 1975. They are incredible and between listening to their album, watching all their interviews, and searching for all their EP songs (which are not readily available in the US, by the way) I gradually fell in love. Fast forward a few months later, and here I am preparing to see them in concert and trying desperately to decide what to wear.

Image

This is from a lovely Elle interview. Click to read it.

For those of you who aren’t familiar with The 1975, they are a band from Manchester in the UK comprised of four members: Adam Hann, Ross Macdonald, George Daniel, and their frontman Matty Healy.  They’ve been together for ten years, but only recently gotten a label and released an album. Their “sound” is that they have no sound. Songs range from 80s pop-ish to indie/grunge rock to techno/electric to atmospheric interludes. I am totes obsessed. Everything they do is in black and white, whether it’s music videos, Insta pics, or photoshoots. It’s their lyrics that really get me. Matty Healy is genius, and he wrote these songs when no one was hearing them, so they are so raw and emotional and striking.

The 1975 is pretty edgy for me, a little preppy southern girl who lives in Jacks and J.Crew shorts, so figuring out what to wear to this concert to stand out but also “look the part” has actually been really fun and challenging. I like to be a “situational dresser,” it really makes things interesting, and taking a break from your signature look every now and then is really refreshing.

SO, while I was picturing what I would wear I was thinking high waisted jeans, crop top, converse- things every girl will probably be wearing if we’re being honest…and then I came across this tank top buried in a pile of tacky cheap little things at Forever 21 (a store I do not frequent). This tank top was like finding a needle in a haystack. When I lifted it up out of it’s cluttered little rack it was like the heavens parted and I could hear angels singing. It.is.perfect.  I obviously grabbed it and ran to the register as fast as I could with a wad of cash telling the poor cute little gay at the front to take my money in hysterics (trust, it happened exactly like that) and got the heck out of that messy store as fast as I could. And now I’m left deciding how to style it.

So here we go:

Image

Ignore the horrible quality of the picture. This is the best I could do.

At left is the tank top I found. I have a few different ideas for how to style it. The first is to keep it pretty simple, adding high waisted distressed jean shorts (gotta have those bows: swoon), a flannel, and black Converse high tops.

ImageIt’s pretty shear so I would probably wear a pretty, extremely well-fitting black bra under it. If I’m only going to be this scandalous and wild-child looking once I might as well go all out.

My next option would be to keep it closer to my usual style. I would do it with a blush pair of j.Crew shorts to match the pinkish tones in the tank, a pair of Jack Rogers sandals, and a turban headband. I would go for gold jewelry.Image I think it would be unexpected to pair with the tank but I really see it working. And trust, I have a vision with these things…. usually.

My last option at the moment is to go with something pretty casual and comfy.I’m thinking boyfriend jeans, white Converse, denim chambray shirt, and black bandana tied in the hair. I would do loose waves and understated jewelry.Image I would also tie up the denim shirt.

That’s about that. I am beyond excited to go to this concert, so I want my outfit to be perfect. Let me know in the comments what you think I should go with (if there even are any of you reading this…) and I will definitely post what I end up wearing!

One last thing- here’s some links to my favorite The 1975 stuff! Basically everything you need to knowan awesome recent interview… and their Youtube page, which has new music videos and all their older EP tracks. Hope you love them!

Leave a reply :)

